Board of Directors

The RCMPVA is governed by a Board of Directors who are responsible for overseeing the business activities and other affairs of the Association. The board is comprised of up to nine directors, who serve for three years. The Board is supported by four officers; three of whom are elected internally from within the board.

Alexander (Sandy) Glenn


Steve Walker

Past President

Sandra Conlin

Vice President and Director

Robert (Bob) Byers


Don Belke

Treasurer and Director

George Lensen

Director - Membership

Bob Byers

Director - Finance Audit

Ruby Burns

Director - Chief Advocate

Celine Gingras

Benefit Trust Fund Manager

James Forrest

Director - Communications

James Brown

Deputy Director Membership

Al Rivard

Special Advisor - Sponsorship

Dr. James Evans

Executive Officer


The RCMPVA Board of Directors conducts its oversight functions in concert with key committees so the association and its boardoperates both effectively and in accordance with a high standard of corporate governance that adheres to the requirements of the Canada Not-for-profit Corporations Act.

Association Operations Committee (AOC)

Chair: Sandra Conlin

President: Alexander (Sandy) P. Glenn

Vice President: Sandra Conlin

Treasurer: Don Belke

Secretary: Robert (Bob) Byers

Director of Communications: James Forrest

Executive Officer: Dr. James Evans



Chair: James Forrest

Website: James Forrest

Internal & External Communications: James Forrest


Membership Committee

Chair: George Lensen

Deputy Chair: James Brown

Association Membership Database Manager: Bryan Neville



Chair: Ruby Burns

Deputy Chair: Céline Gingras

Chief Advocate: Ruby Burns


Support Committee

Pension Advisory Committee (RCMP PAC): Steve Walker

Pension Finance Oversight Committee: Steve Walker

Member Benefits & RCMP Benefit Trust Fund:  Céline Gingras

Dental Advisory: Bill Brydon (Nova Scotia Division)

Graves Committee: Jack O’Reilly (Toronto Division)


Finance and Audit Committee

Chair: Bob Byers

Member: Earl Basse

ExOfficio:  Don Belke


Nomination Committee

Chair: Steve Walker, Past President


Honours & Recognition Committee

Chair: Ralph Mahar



Chair: Vacant




RCMP – RCMPVA Benefits Committee

Co-Chair: Steve Walker

Co-Chair: Director General/Officer i/c National Compensations Services, RCMP

Member: Sgt. Kim Hendricken


Regional Liaison

BC & Yukon: James Brown

Prairies: Bob Byers

Ontario & Quebec: Sandra Conlin

Atlantic: Ruby Burns


Veterans’ Women’s Council

Chair: Jane Hall

Association Advocate: Ruby Burns, PEI

Member: Vivienne Stewart, BC

Member: Kathy Long, NS

Member: Tim Hoban, NB

Member: Dr. Darlene Worth, NS

Ex Officio: Steve Walker, President, MB

Ex Officio: Al Rivard, Governor & Special Advisor, NB


VAC Stakeholders

Advisory Group on Families: Dave Leblanc

Service Excellence Advisory Group: Ralph Mahar


Canadian Institute for Military and Veteran Health Research

Lead: Rick Morris


Office of the Veterans Ombudsman Advisory Council (OVO)

Council Member: Al Rivard


RCMP Veterans’ Association Foundation

Director: Keith Trail, Nanaimo, BC

Director: John Francis, Kingston, ON

Director: Ian Atkins, Bedford, NS

Director: Roy Berlinquette, Ottawa, ON

Director: Robert Hurman, Paradise, NL

Director: Jerry Plastow, Edmonton, AB

Member: Steve Walker

Board of Governors

Chair: Steve Walker , Winnipeg, Man

Al Rivard, Moncton, NB

Dave Leblanc, Gimli, MB

Cal Small, Orleans, ON

Tim Hoban, Miramichi, NB

Rick Morris, Toronto, ON

Bill Patton, Edmonton, AB

Keith Trail, Namaimo, BC

Bill McCheyne, Surrey, BC

Dale Lively, St. Andrews, NB